Council Members

Council Members

The Maryland Developmental Disabilities Council is a self-governing body whose appointed members include people with developmental disabilities, family members, service providers, state agency representatives, and representatives of Maryland’s protection and advocacy system and University Center on Developmental Disabilities.  The majority of the Council’s members are people with developmental disabilities and family members.  The Council is in a unique position to bring together people with diverse perspectives, experiences and knowledge in meaningful partnerships.


Kalani Brown
Montgomery County      Chairperson

Brent Debnam
Prince George’s County         Vice Chair

JoEllen Barnhart
Washington County

Secretary Carol Beatty
Maryland Department of Disabilities

Carmen Brown
(representing Marcella Franczkowski) Maryland State Department of Education

John Bratcher
Harford County

Jamal Cannady
Wicomico County

Laura-Sun Cefaratti
Anne Arundel County

Lisa Derx
Best Buddies International



Harold Gomes
Montgomery County

Kay Han
Montgomery County

Rosanne Hanratty
Maryland Department of Aging

Kathy Hargett
Montgomery County

Teresa Herbert
Harford County

Meghan Jones
Montgomery County

Amanda Lay
Montgomery County

Jed L. Miller
Prevention and Health Promotion Administration, MDH

Tobi Ojo
Harford County

Rebecca Oliver
Office of Health Services, MDH


Jill Pierce
Maryland State Department of Education, DORS

Julie Randall
St. Mary’s County

Ruth Shipps
Prince George’s County

Bernie Simons
Developmental Disabilities Administration

Irene Souada
Shared Support Maryland

Teri Sparks
Disability Rights Maryland

Maureen Van Stone           Maryland Center for Developmental Disabilities

Adam VanderHook
Montgomery County

Russell Young
Baltimore County

A child with a developmental disability with mom and dad

Quick Links

Council Brochure

Current Annual Report

Impact Summary: Child Care

Impact Summary: Employment

Impact Summary: Advocacy